How long does it take to get a motorcycle license in Pennsylvania and/or California?
Hello! We recently covered this topic in one of our blog posts, but here’s the main information you’re looking for when it comes to obtaining a motorcycle license in California.The first thing you need to know about getting a motorcycle license for riding in the state of California is that every person who requests one isn’t qualified. People who have ridden motorcycles for decades dispute the need for licensure but the special license serves a number of important purposes. It allows the state to keep track of the owners and drivers of dangerous equipment on the roads. The state doesn’t just hand out motorcycle driver’s licenses; it’s something you have to work for.Step 1: Know the Difference Between a Motorcycle License and a Moped LicenseIn California, there are two classes of motorcycle license: M1 and M2. If you want a motorcycle license to ride a full-size, you need to apply for an M1 license. An M2 license only allows you to drive a motorized bicycle, motorized scooter, or a moped.Every driver applying for either an M1 or M2 motorcycle license will begin with a learner’s permit. Applicants under the age of 21 years old must retain their permit for six months before they are allowed to take the driving test. They must also complete a state-approved motorcycle safety course prior to obtaining their motorcycle license. Drivers without a regular driver’s license must also prtheir social security number, birth date, and legal presence document when applying for their motorcycle driving permit.Step 2: Prepare for Your Motorcycle Permit TestCalifornia requires applicants for a motorcycle permit test to meet a number of requirements. These include being at least 15-1/2 years of age and successful completion of both driver’s education and driver’s training. If you are under the age of 15-1/2, you must have your parents• signature on the application.Obtain a form DL 44 from the DMV and have your parents sign it prior to the test. Prepare for the written motorcycle test by studying the California Motorcycle Handbook and taking practice tests online at the CA DMV.The number of serious motorcycle accidents that occur in California each year throughout the state is the reason that the process of getting a motorcycle license in CA be a restrictive one. The more prepared you are before getting your California motorcycle license, the safer your driving will be!Step 3: Schedule an Appointment with Your Local DMVThe process for getting a motorcycle license begins and ends with the local California Department of Motor Vehicles. You will need to make an appointment and arrive on time with the appropriate documentation in-hand. Take proof of identity and if you are under 21, prproof of having completed a motorcycle safety course.At the appointment, expect to take the written skills test and motorcycle laws test. In addition, you must pay the $35 learner’s permit application fee, pass a vision test, and have a thumb print taken. Don’t expect to show up and get your motorcycle driver’s permit just by asking for it.Step 4: Prepare for the Motorcycle Driving TestOnce you receive your motorcycle driving permit, you have up to 12 months to practice your driving skills before taking the driving test. During the period of time that you have a driving permit, you cannot drive your motorcycle at night, on the freeway, or with passengers on-board. If the twelve-month period expires before you take the driving test, you will need to reapply for a new permit and pay the additional fee.HOW TO APPLY FOR A MOTORCYCLE PERMIT TESTStart by calling the DMV and asking how to get a motorcycle license to ensure you know all the requirements for the type of license you want and your current age. The learner’s permit is an important document that opens the door towards getting a motorcycle license. If you must have your parents• signature on the DL 44 form, you will have to pick it up in advance from the DMV. This document is not available online. Additional documents to take include:Acceptable forms of IDProof of successful completion of a state-approved motorcycle safety courseThe DL 44 form signed by your parents if you are under the age of 21Social security cardBirth record and legal presence documentPrescription eyeglasses if requiredLearn more about getting a motorcycle license HERE.Hope this helps!